top of page
Search
  • Raymond Schmidt

Distractions & Difficulty

Since the beginning of time man has made one invention after another. While many of these inventions are great, helpful and useful in many way, there are much more that is just as much as a distraction. For people like me I have always gotten distracted easily with these inventions, be it video games, movies, books or just social media. The difficulty in it for me isn't so much as what they are but as who I am. I have been since birth riddled with ADD making it difficult to focus on one task, and just as hard not to focus on several tasks at the same time. For those with ADD, you know what I mean by how just the small thing in the corner of your eye, or the slightest sound just outside your window can take your focus away from the subject at hand.


Unfortunately there will always be those people who were not born with ADD or develop them and then not understand what we are going through. Not saying everybody like this are critical about it, but some are. For example my grandfather. He has the mindset that you can focus if you just force yourself to do it. Unfortunately, it is not that simple.


a developmental disorder that is marked especially by persistent symptoms of inattention (such as distractibility, forgetfulness, or disorganization) or by symptoms of hyperactivity and impulsive (such as fidgeting, speaking out of turn, or restlessness) or by symptoms of all three and that is not caused by any serious underlying physical or mental disorder

- As stated by Marriam-Webster Dictionary


In the past when I was still on medical insurance and a child I took medication to try to help me focus. Things such as Ritalin and Adderall would just put me into a zombie state where I had little to no reaction to the environment around me. Sounds good right? Just focus on one thing? Did we forget I said zombie? Yea I could not even focus on the task at hand once again. So after a few weeks on that stuff my parents thankfully took me off. Otherwise, at school I am sure I would have been made fun of as the zombie kid.


Now you may be thinking that it is about time that I wrap this into pretty little present and say everything is fine now. Fun fact, that is further from the truth. I will always be living with ADHD my entire life and there are few times where I can actually focus. One such thing I would increasing my blood pressure and heart-rate helps a little but I cant be running all of the time now can I? Also being in the current position I am in as most adults are I cannot afford to buy myself ADHD medication, so that is out of the question. Hopefully in the future I can find something that helps.


Have a story of your own you want to share? Please do! I will catch you in the next blog!

1132020

5 views0 comments
bottom of page